### University of Montana

## ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

**University Relations** 

1-16-1961

# National Science Foundation Visiting Scientist Program to be initiated by the Montana Academy of Sciences

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases

## Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

#### **Recommended Citation**

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "National Science Foundation Visiting Scientist Program to be initiated by the Montana Academy of Sciences" (1961). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 863.

https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/863

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

Dwyer 1-16-61

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montana high school science students stand to profit from exposure to top scientists through the National Science Foundation Visiting Scientist Program, being initiated in the state this month by the Montana Academy of Sciences.

The Montana Academy has received a \$12,822 grant from the foundation to administer the program, according to Dr. John P. Robinson of the Montana State University Botany Department, program director.

From 140 nominees, sixty scientists won NSF approval for participation in the program. The specialists in fields ranging from anthropology to zoology will be available, without fee, for visits to high schools and junior high schools. They will serve as lecturers, panelists or consultants and may spend time with faculty and lay groups as well as students.

The battery of experts includes 25 from MSU, 20 from Montana State College, four from the U. S. Public Health Service Rocky Mountain Laboratory, three from Eastern Montana College of Education, two from Western Montana College of Education, and one each from Montana School of Mines, College of Great Falls, Carroll College, Northern Montana College, U. S. Forest Service and private industry.

Requests for the services of the scientists are beginning to come in, and funds available will permit filling those received early, Dr. Robinson said. Requests from any junior or senior high school in the state will be considered as long as funds are available, he added. He suggested that very small schools join forces with one or more other schools to assure equal consideration in the event of a heavy volume of requests.

Dr. Robinson said that Montana Academy of Sciences officers instrumental in obtaining the program for Montana include John H. Rumely, Bozeman, president;

(more)

Publications and News Service



Bruce Johnson, Kalispell, vice president; LeRoy H. Harvey, Missoula, executive secretary, and Jack E. Schmautz, Missoula, treasurer.

MSU scientists selected for participation are Drs. Arnold W. Bolle, Gordon Browder, Ludvig G. Browman, Gordon B. Castle, Meyer Chessin, Robert W. Fields, James W. Gebhart, Joseph Hashisaki, Mark J. Jakobson, C. R. Jeppesen, Arthur E. Livingston, Carling Malouf, Mitsuru Nakamura, Clyde E. Noble, E. W. Pfeiffer, Howard E. Reinhardt, Clyde M. Senger, Otto L. Stein, John M. Stewart, Richard D. Taber, Dee C. Taylor, Frederick H. Young, and Profs. Melvin S. Morris and W. Leslie Pengelly.

MSC faculty members taking part are Drs. E. W. Anacker, Charles C. Bradley, Charles N. Caughlan, William B. Cook, Kenneth J. Goering, Adrien L. Hess, J. C. Hide, Richard H. McBee, William J. McMannis, John de la Montagne, Bruce B. Murray, Gladys H. Roehm, A'Delbert Samson, George C. Towe, William G. Walter, Donald K. Weaver, J. Eldon Whitesitt, and Profs. Georgeanne R. Caughlan, and Adam W. Miller Jr. and Nathaniel J. Kutzman.

Other scientists selected are Drs. Robert L. Anacker, Bill H. Hoyer, Richard A. Ormsbee and Samuel B. Salvin, all of the USPHS Rocky Mountain Laboratory; Elmer Andersen, Dr. Wilson F. Clark and Robert J. McRae, all of Eastern Montana College of Education; Dr. Wesley Caspers and Dr. G. L. Daniels, both of Western Montana College of Education; Prof. John H. Gelissen, College of Great Falls; Jesse R. Green, Bozeman, retired Anaconda Co. chemist; Prof. John G. McCaslin, Montana School of Mines; Dr. James J. Manion, Carroll College; William A. Stannard, Northern Montana College, and David Tackle, USFS, Bozeman.

###

