University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

5-15-1962

25 high school seniors to complete for the Andrew B. Hammond Worthy Scholar Award at Montana State University

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "25 high school seniors to complete for the Andrew B. Hammond Worthy Scholar Award at Montana State University" (1962). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 1118. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/1118

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

Publications and News Service

4 and 25x

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Twenty-five high school seniors selected by a faculty screening committee will compete for Andrew B. Hammond Worthy Scholar Awards at Montana State University during Interscholastic, May 24 through 26, according to Andrew C. Cogswell, dean of students.

The awards carry a cash value of more than \$300 and allow winners to attend MSU their freshman year without payment of fees. Students who maintain a good scholastic record are usually eligible for University Honor Scholarships to continue their education at MSU, the dean said.

The scholarships are financed by an endowment established by Mrs. Frank B. King in memory of her father, Andrew B. Hammond, pioneer Montana businessman.

Thursday and Finalists will take further tests and be interviewed Friday, May 25 successful candidates will be announced at an awards luncheon the next day.

Vying for the awards will be Ramona A. Aus and Judy M. Johnston, both of Cut Bank: Leonard S. Davis, Sherril Lee Hunter and Margaret Ann Short, all of Livingston; Eugene J. Enrico, David R. Howlett and Jeffry M. Kirkland, all of Billings; Jane L. Flaskerud and Lee H. Simmons, both of Red Lodge, and George M. Hamlett, Columbus.

John T. Hoven, John E. Polich, John Les Santa, David Brian Smith, Susan Lee Sterling and Carol Jean Taplett, all of Missoula; Walter J. Knaff and Thomas E. Ruchle, both of Glasgow; Dwight E. Phillips, Hilger; William J. Popp, Ronan; Gisela Reichenbach and Ronald C. Wick, both of Fairview; Barbara M. Weitz, Sidney, and Christopher J. Schmidt, Great Falls.

###

MONTANA STATE UNIVERSITY, Missoula