University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

The Montana Constitution Collection

Mansfield Center

2-9-1972

Minutes of the twenty-seventh meeting of the Judiciary Committee

Montana. Constitutional Convention (1971-1972). Judiciary Committee

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/montanaconstitution Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

Montana. Constitutional Convention (1971-1972). Judiciary Committee, "Minutes of the twenty-seventh meeting of the Judiciary Committee" (1972). *The Montana Constitution Collection*. 248. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/montanaconstitution/248

This Committee Minutes and Testimony is brought to you for free and open access by the Mansfield Center at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in The Montana Constitution Collection by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.



JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

NOIIUUUU HELENA, MONTANA 59601

Place of Meeting: Room 413, Capitol Building, Helena, Montana Date of Meeting Held: February 9, 1972

เม่า

ECAPITOL

Hour Meeting Held: 10:30 A.M.

MINUTES OF THE TWENTY-SEVENTH MEETING OF JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Roll Call:

David L. Holland, Chairman	-	Present
Mrs. Catherine Pemberton, Vice-Chairman		Present
Cedor B. Aronow	-	Present
Ben E. Berg, Jr.	-	Present
Mrs. Jean M. Bowman	-	Present
Leslie "Joe" Eskildsen	-	Present
Rod Hanson	-	Present
J. Mason Melvin	-	Present
John M. Schiltz	-	Present

DISCUSSION:

The committee discussed the procedure of the "Romney" hearing of the Judiciary Committee which is scheduled for this afternoon. Chairman Dave Holland felt no questions should be allowed from the floor. Delegate John M. Schiltz offered a proposal that the legislature would provide funds for judicial campaigns. Following a discussion, seven members voted to include this proposal in the committee report. Those members are Delegates Berg, Schiltz, Pemberton, Holland, Aronow, Melvin and Hanson; two members, Delegates Bowman and Eskildsen, voted against the proposal.

The committee then adjourned.

Ellen McCarthy Secretary

DAVID L. HOLLAND, Chairman