University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

The Montana Constitution Collection

Mansfield Center

2-2-1972

Minutes of the fifteenth meeting of the Legislative Committee

Montana. Constitutional Convention (1971-1972). Legislative Committee

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/montanaconstitution

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

Montana. Constitutional Convention (1971-1972). Legislative Committee, "Minutes of the fifteenth meeting of the Legislative Committee" (1972). *The Montana Constitution Collection*. 281. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/montanaconstitution/281

This Committee Minutes and Testimony is brought to you for free and open access by the Mansfield Center at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in The Montana Constitution Collection by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.



MONTANA CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION STATE CAPITOL . HELENA, MONTANA 59601 . TELEPHONE 406/449-3750

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE

Place of Meeting: Room 434

Date Meeting Held: 2/2/72 Hour Meeting Held: 11 a.m.

Committee Chairman: Magnus Aasheim

MINUTES OF THEFIFTHTEENTH LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

SUBJECT OF MEETING: Worksheet Items

Roll Call:

Magnus Aasheim, Chairman
Jerome T. Loendorf, V. Chairman
Grace Bates
Daphne Bugbee
Jerome J. Cate
George Harper
Torrey B. Johnson
Robert Lee Kelleher
John H. Leuthold
Richard A. Nutting
Arlyne E. Reichert
Mae Nan Robinson
Miles Romney
Carman Skari

Present
Present

INTERESTED PERSONS TESTIFYING:

Name

Occupation or Title

None

February 2, 1972 11 a.m.

Chairman Aasheim called the meeting to order. Roll call was taken. The committee discussed their worksheet concensus of opinion. Questions were noted which the committee was going to ask the legislators appearing at the afternoon committee meeting.

It was decided to talk about Section 28 under Miscellaneous of the worksheet.

It was decided to consider Section 7 at a later date.

Suggestions pertaining to the veto (filed hereafter) were discussed. It was decided to look into the conditional veto.

Time of recess: 12:00.

Magnus Aasheim, Chairman

Judy Pratt, Secretary



MONTANA CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION STATE CAPITOL . HELENA, MONTANA 59501 . TELEPHONE 406/449-3750

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE

Place of Meeting: Room 434

Date Meeting Held: 2/2/72 Hour Meeting Held: 1:30 p.m.

Committee Chairman: Magnus Aasheim

MINUTES OF THE FIFTEENTH LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE MEETING CONTINUED FROM MORNING SESSION

SUBJECT OF MEETING: Legislators' Views

Roll Call:

Magnus Aasheim, Chairman Present Jerome T. Loendorf, V. Chairman Present Grace Bates Present Daphne Bugbee Present Jerome J. Cate Present George Harper Present Torrey B. Johnson Present Robert Lee Kelleher Absent John H. Leuthold Present Richard A. Nutting Present Arlyne E. Reichert Present Mae Nan Robinson Present Miles Romney Present Carman Skari Present

INTERESTED PERSONS TESTIFYING:

Name

- 1. Earl Moritz
- 2. Gordon McOmber
- 3. Dave Manning
- 4. Glen Rugg
- 5. Carroll Graham
- 6. Stan Stephens
- 7. J. O. Asbjornson
- 8. Michael Greely
- 9. Tom Harrison
- 10. Oscar Kvaalen
- 11. J. D. Lynch

2 Company

Occupation or Title

Senator, Lewistown
Senator, Fairfield
Senator, Hysham
Senator, Plevna
Senator, Lodge Grass
Senator, Havre
Representative, Winifred
Representative, Great Falls
Representative, Helena
Representative, Lambert
Representative, Butte

February 2, 1972 1:30 p.m.

airman Aasheim called the meeting to order.

at was the sense of the committee to delete Section 31. (3 against)

The committee decided to discuss Section 35 at a later time.

*It was the sense of the committee to delete Section 36. (5 against)

Legislators appearing before the committee at 2 p.m. were: Senators Earl Moritz, Carroll Graham, Gordon McOmber, Glen Rugg, Stan Stephens, and Dave Manning. Representatives appearing were: J. D. Lynch, Tom Harrison, Oscar Kvaalen, Mike Greely, and J. O. Asbjornson.

The chairman told the legislators of some of the ideas that the committee had reached. Each legislator discussed the size of the legislature. Questions and answers followed. The legislators spoke on the length of terms of legislators. Legislators expressed their views on qualifications of legislators, residency requirements, and if they felt a person should be a resident of the district in which he is running. The legislators expressed their views on reapportionment and single-member districts versus multi-member districts.

Following a short recess the following legislators spoke in favor of a bicameral system: Kvaalen (testimony filed hereafter), Stephens, McOmber (testimony filed hereafter), Lynch, Rugg, Graham, and Manning.

presentatives Harrison and Greely spoke in favor of a unicameral system.

Ouestions and answers followed.

The legislators were asked ways in which the legislature could be improved or changed. Discussion followed. All seemed to agree that the legislature needed more time in which to function.

Time of adjournment: 6 p.m.

Magnus Aasheim, Chairman

Judy Pratt, Secretary