University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes

University of Montana Faculty Senate

4-12-1921

Minutes from the April 12, 1921 meeting of the University of Montana faculty

State University of Montana (Missoula, Mont.). Faculty

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/facultysenate_minutes Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

State University of Montana (Missoula, Mont.). Faculty, "Minutes from the April 12, 1921 meeting of the University of Montana faculty" (1921). *University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes*. 769. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/facultysenate_minutes/769

This Meeting Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the University of Montana Faculty Senate at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

Service

Comm

thee

april 12, 1921

1. The regular monthly meeting of the Faculty was held April 12th at 4:10 F. L., with President Sisson presiding and Chancellor Illiott present.

The following members were present: Ames, Baker, Berry, Bevan Blee Burgee, Burroughs, Bozorth, Coon, Corbin, Cox, Daughters Daum, Dean, Deater, Fenska, Fisher, Freeman, Gardner, Graff Haley Howard, Jacobson, Jesse, Leaphart, Leyda, Merriam, Graff Haley Howard, Jacobson, Jesse, Leaphart, Leyda, Merriam, Merrill, Mollett, Neuman, Owen, Phillips, Rapp, Rowe, Schaefer, Scheuch Schreiber, Schwalm, Simes, Skeels, DeLoss Smith, F.O. Scheuch, Steward, Stone, Suchy, Urey, Mhitcomb.

The following members were accounted for: Arnoldson, Carey, Lennes.

The following members came in after the meeting was called to order: Elrod, Kirkwood, Underwood, Weisberg.

- 3. The minutes of the meeting of March 17, 1921, were approved.
- 4. The following announcements were made by the Secretary:
 (a) That service reports for the spring quarter should be filed in the Registrar's Office not later than April 15th.
 (b) Reports of unsatisfactory scholarship are due in the Registrar's Office, Monday, April 25th at 9:00 A. L.

5. The Secretary stated that the Chancellor's Executive Secretary had notified him that "the first of November, Professor P. C. Phillips was notified of his appointment to that committee [Service Committee] by the Chancellor.

Loved by Rowe, seconded and unanimously adopted that election of the faculty representative on the Service Committee be made a special order of business at the next meeting.

6. The Committee on Admission and Registration recommended that the following candidates be granted degrees and certificates as indicated:

FOR THE DEGREE OF BACHELOR OF ARTS

	Name of Candidate	Lajor	Credits in Lajor	Total Cr	
Applications for Degrees	De Kyke, Leroy Enutson, Lablè 3. Linderman, Wilda Jane Mooney, Guy Hastings Riechal, Ers.Olive L.	Modern Language Anglish Anglish Journalism Latin	63 63 63 5 61 2 78 60	202 166 181 192 231	
	FOR THE DEGREE OF BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN FORESTRY				
	Dirmeyer, Earl Paul Franco, Pelix, y Polos	æ	1675 111	204 196	
	BOD SHO ANDATATA AND				

FOR THE CLEATE OF COLPLETION OF THE COURSE IN LAW

200 DED DE DE DE DE	127	
FOR THE DEGREE OF PH	RMACEUTICAL CHEMIET	
Thompson, Lerle H.	68	18
	ERTIFICATE OF QUALIFICATION TO TEACH	
Anderson, Alma C. De Ryke, Leroy Hurzeler, Gladys	Fine Arts Modern LanguagesHistory & Biology(B. Home Leonomics Chemistry (B.A.	

7. The Committee on Admission and Registration recommended that the petitions of the following students that their applications as candidates for degrees in June, 1921, be accepted subsequently to two quarters prior to graduation as required by a faculty rule, was granted: Harry F. Adams, Ralph A. Ballard, Brice Toole, William L. Walterskirchen. George Glenn Witter, Albert, E. Woehner.

8. The Chancellor addressed the Faculty concerning University business and a discussion of various problems ensued. addition . The second and a sec

5

And and a second s

. 9. Moved by Underwood and seconded that a committee of seven members be elected concerning policy of distribution of budget. A substitute motion was made by Rowe and seconded by Kirkwood that a committee of three be appointed to make recommendations to the faculty concerning the subject of the original motion. The substitute motion was adopted by a vote of 37 to 8. The original motion with the substitute

motion included was then adopted without a dissenting vote. Budget The President appointed as members of the committee, Underwood direct and Rowo The President then asked if Committee Underwood, Elrod, and Rowe. The President then asked if there were any objections to the committee having four members and there being none, he appointed Dean Leaphart as a member of the committee.

Lr. Lerriam called attention to the fact that the Pres-, ident would also be a member of the committee ex officio.

10. There being no further business before the Faculty, the meeting adjourned.

