University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes

University of Montana Faculty Senate

4-18-1946

Minutes from the April 18, 1946 meeting of the University of Montana faculty

Montana State University (Missoula, Mont.). Faculty

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/facultysenate_minutes

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

Montana State University (Missoula, Mont.). Faculty, "Minutes from the April 18, 1946 meeting of the University of Montana faculty" (1946). *University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes*. 977. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/facultysenate_minutes/977

This Meeting Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the University of Montana Faculty Senate at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

Balloting on the member of the new committee to be elected was postboned until the next meeting.

12. There being no further business to come before the faculty, the meeting was adjourn at 5:25 p.m.

B. G. Marble Secretary

mb 4/9/46

April 18, 174

1. A meeting of the faculty was held at 4:10 p.m. on the call of President James M. McCain, who presided.

Present: Ames, Armsby, Arnold, Arnoldson, Athinson, Bischoff, E.E. Bennett, Briggs, Browman, Bue, Jampbell, Chatland, Clark, Cogswell, Coleman, Crow, Davis, Diettert, Dubisch, Dugan, Ely, Emblen, Flint, Frost, Ford, Freeman, Gillingham, Hathaway, Hoffman, Jeppesen, Jesse, Kramer, Leaphart, Lowell, McCain, Marble, McGinnis, Martol Marvin, Meadows, Mauker, Merriam, Merrill, Sappenfield, Severy, Shallenberger, Frank Smith, Sorenson, J.B. Speer, Miller, Mirrielees, Mollett, Moore, Nutterville, Noble, Paton, Payne, Lucile Speer, Suchy, Mrs. M.B. Swearingen, T.G. Swearingen, Tasher, Turner, Turney-High, Waldon, White, Williams, Wilson, Wright.

Accounted for: Beaver, Edna K. Bennett, Berg, Brownell, Castle, Clapp, Clark, Ferguson, Fessenden, Fritz, Garlington, Gates, Gillespie, Gulbrandson, Hetler, Howard, Hubbell, Jacobs, Lory, Mason, Morris, Nelson, Peterson, Pope, Ramski Florence Smith, Russell Smith, Van Vorous, Maters, Weisberg, Morden.

- 2. The minutes of the meeting of April 9, were approved.
- 3. Dr. Ames announced the need of the Montana Education Association for funds to subsidize a survey of the financial structure of Montana Echools.

It was moved by Dr. Merrill, seconded and passed that the faculty express its approval of the proposition and invite solicitation by the Missoula County Education Association for contributions on somewhat the same basis as for grade and high school teachers.

- 4. The President called for nominations for a new secretary to the faculty to relieve Mr. Marble. Dr. Browman nominated Mr. Gillingham; Dr. Jesse nominated Mrs. Armbsy; Dean Leaphart nominated Mr. Martell. After some discussion the nominations were withdrawn and a motion was made by Atkinson, seconded and passed that the faculty authorize the President to appoint a secretary for the faculty.
- 5. Dr. Merriam introduced Mr. Calder T. Williams and Mr. Philip W. Payne who will be instructors in the Department of English.
- 6. The President made the following announcements:
 - a. Chancellor Selke will be our commencement speaker.
 - b. Dr. Theodore H. Smith has been appointed by the State Board of Education as Dean of the School of Eusiness Administration, effective July 1.
- 7. In the absence of Dr. Waters, in charge of the Awards and Prizes Convocation, Mr. Marble announced that that Convocation would be held on June 7th, and suggested that no announcements be made relative to the recipients of the awards prior to the convocation. He requested that the Registrar's Office be notified of all awards and prizes so that the Commencement Program can be prepared and preparations made for the convocation.
- 5. The President announced that the faculty would proceed with elections for the ensuing year of a member to the new Appointments and Promotions Committee; that following previous practice, (unless the faculty objected), nominations be made by ballot; a majority on nominating ballot would constitute election; if no majority, the two high in the nominating ballot would be voted on. Bue and Miller were appointed as tellers to assist the secretary in distributing and counting ballots.

- he President announced that he had re-appointed Professor Toelle as his representative the Service Committee and stated that Dr. Selke, the new Chancellor would be asked name his appointee after he has taken office (Dr. Hetler holds this membership now). r. W.P. Clark was re-elected by the faculty as their representative on the Service omittee.
- r. Castle was re-elected by the faculty as chairman of the Budget and Policy Committee.
- the President read a list of faculty members on permanent tenure preceding the balloting a member to the new Appointments and Promotions Committee since the regulations adopted the faculty on April 9, 1946 specified that this member "must be on permanent tenure, o be chosen from the divisions or schools not represented by the chairman of the Budget and Policy Committee and the Vice-President". Professor Freeman was elected to this embership.
- r. Maucker was elected to a three-year term as one of the faculty representatives to he Missoula County Teachers Council.
- he faculty then adjourned to their respective groups and elected the following members the Budget and Policy Committee:
- . Arts group--Atkinson (two-year term) (Hold-over member, Ely)
- . Science group--Howard (two-year term) (Hold-over member, Jeppesen)
- . Schools group--Davis (two-year term) (Hold-over member, Cogswell)

nere being no further business before the faculty, the meeting adjourned.

E. G. Marble Secretary

May 7, 1946

meeting of the faculty was held at 4:10 p.m. on the call of President James A. McCain, o presided.

esent: Ames, Armsby, Arnold, Arnoldson, Atkinson, E. E. Bennett, Briggs, Browman, e, Campbell, Chatland, Clapp, W.P. Clark, Cogswell, Coleman, Davis, Diettert, bisch, Dugan, Ely, Emblen, Ferguson, Frost, Ford, Freeman, Gillingham, Hathaway, M. Hetler, Mrs. D.M. Hetler, J.W. Howard, Jeppesen, Jesse, Kramer, Leaphart, Lowell, Cain, Marble, McGinnis, Martell, Marvin, Meadows, Merriam, Merrill, Miller, Mirrielees, llett, Moore, Morris, Mutterville, Noble, Paton, Payne, Platt, Jappenfield, Rineheart, allenberger, Sherman, Sorenson, Suchy, M. B. Swearingen, Tascher, Thomas, Toelle, rner, Turney-High, Waldon, Waters, Williams, Wright.

counted for: Beaver, Bell, Edna K. Bennett, Berg, Bischoff, Brownell, Castle, Fay ark, Crow, Fessenden, Fritz, Garlington, Gates, Gillespie, Gulbrandson, Hoffman, vee, J. K. Howard, Hubell, Jacobs, Kelly, Lory, Mason, Nelson, Pope, Rich, Ramskill, very, Florence Smith, Russell Smith, Lucile Speer, Stiffler, Van Vorous, Weisberg, ite, Wilson, Worden.

- President announced that he had not yet appointed a new secretary and asked Ir.
- minutes of the meeting of April 18 were approved.
- President reported on the meeting of the National Association of State Universities ich he recently attended in Chicago.
- . H. G. Merriam made the report of the Special Curriculum committee which was marized as follows: (copies of the report were distributed to those present.)
- e committee recommends:
 - R 1 that a permanent committee be appointed for current study of the curriculum;
 - R 2 that work in health education, public and personal, to a minimum of three credits be required of all students;