## University of Montana

## ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes

University of Montana Faculty Senate

4-16-1947

## Minutes from the April 16, 1947 meeting of the University of Montana faculty

Montana State University (Missoula, Mont.). Faculty

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/facultysenate\_minutes

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

## **Recommended Citation**

Montana State University (Missoula, Mont.). Faculty, "Minutes from the April 16, 1947 meeting of the University of Montana faculty" (1947). *University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes*. 998. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/facultysenate\_minutes/998

This Meeting Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the University of Montana Faculty Senate at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

April 16, 1947

. A meeting of the faculty was held at 4:00 P.M. on call of President James A. McCain who presided.

Present: Ames, Armsby, Atkinson, Bennett, Bischoff, Blaesser, Briggs, Brody, Campbell, Carleton, Castle, Clapp, W. P. Clark, Clow, Coad, Cogswell, Coleman, Crow, Davis, Davison, Diettert, Ely, Ephron, Ferguson, Fisher, Ford, Freeman, Golden, Hall, Hertler, Hetler, Hoffman, Hook, Howard, Jeppesen, Jesse, Kramer, Leaphart, Line, Lowell, McCain, McGinnis, Marvin, Mason, Maucker, Merriam, Merrill, Miller, Miltz, Mollett, Moore, Noble, Peterson, Phillips, Platt Sappenfield, Shallenberger, L. Smith, Sorenson, J.B. Speer, L. Speer, Suchy, M. Swearingen, T. Swearingen, Tascher, Teel, Thomas, Toelle, Wendt, Wolfard, DeMaris, Fish, Gilliland, and Moe.

Accounted for: Armstrong, Berg, Brunson, Bue, Albright, Chinske, Crowder, Dahlberg, Dugan, Fenton, Fessenden, Flint, Fritz, Gedickian, Garlington, Gleason, Heiss, Karlin, Lester, Lommasson, Lovless, MacArthur, Nelson, Paton, Fatten, Ramskill, G. Smith, R. Smith, T. Smith, Spaulding, Stewart, Struckman, Szakash, Waters, M. White, M.C. White, Williams, Mrs. Harvey, Fetter, and Varneck.

- 2. The minutes of the meeting held April 1 were approved.
  - President McCain announced the membership of the Faculty Club Committee as follows:

Dr. and Mrs. Donald J. Emblen -- Dr. Emblen, Chairman

Mr. and Mrs. Edward B. Dugan

Mr. and Mrs. Alex F. Peterson

Dr. and Mrs. Philip L. Wright

Mr. Aden Arnold

Miss Cleo Crow

- 4. President McCain advised faculty members who might be interested in one of the sixteen housing units at Fort Missoula to call Mrs. Leigh in the housing office.
- 5. Mr. Atkinson discussed the possibility of a summer school commencement and moved that a committee composed of Dr. Maucker, Mr. Atkinson, Mr. Freeman, and the registrar be appointed to investigate with power to act. The motion was seconded and passed.
- 6. Under the heading of new business, the faculty elected the following faculty members to membership on committees:
  - (a) Dr. W. P. Clark as a member of the Service Committee. Mr. Toelle was re-appointed by the president.
  - (b) Dr. Gordon Castle was re-elected chairman of the Budget and Policy Committee.
  - (c) Dr. John Wolfard was elected as a member of the Missoula County Educational Council.
  - (d) Dr. Edmund Freeman was elected as a member of the Appointments and Fromotions Committee.
  - (e) The following were elected as members of the Budget and Folicy Committee:
    - (1) Dr. J. E. Miller from the Arts group
    - (2) Dr. C. R. Jeppesen from the Science group.
    - (3) Dean C. W. Leaphart from the Schools group.

The meeting was adjourned.

Leo Smith Secretary