### University of Montana

# ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes

University of Montana Faculty Senate

4-16-1948

# Minutes from the April 16, 1948 meeting of the University of Montana faculty

Montana State University (Missoula, Mont.). Faculty

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/facultysenate\_minutes

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

#### **Recommended Citation**

Montana State University (Missoula, Mont.). Faculty, "Minutes from the April 16, 1948 meeting of the University of Montana faculty" (1948). *University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes*. 1007. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/facultysenate\_minutes/1007

This Meeting Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the University of Montana Faculty Senate at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

certificate. Dr. Merriam states that the English instructors feel that students not wishing to teach should be allowed to graduate with a major in speech and drama.

- Regarding William L. Denend. Mr. Denend requests permission to have 5 cr. of Gen 11b and 7 cr. in History satisfy the social science requirement. Enrolled in Law School, needs it for B.A. with major in Law.
- Regarding Harold J. Olafson. Mr. Olafson requests permission to satisfy restricted elective requirement for Science and Mathematics with Physics 20a, 5 cr.: Math, 2 cr.; and Math 25, 5 cr. (Not eight in one).
  - c. Dr. Castle, Chairman of the Budget and Policy Committee, Submitted the name of a candidate to be awarded the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Literature in June 1948. The candidate was approved by the faculty for recommendation to the State Board of Education. Mr. Castle also submitted a report of the work of the Budget and Policy Committee the past two quarters.
- d. Dr. Ostrom submitted the report of the Committee on Student Preparation in Mathematics. He recommended that the Committee be dissolved and the work be continued by the Counseling Center.
- A motion was made by Mr. Atkinson, seconded by Dr. Wolfard and carried, that the faculty recommend that the administration appoint a committee to study the nature and use of our grade curve and to report back to the faculty results and recommendations any time within two years.
- The meeting was adjourned.

Leo Smith Secretary

EL:MF

April 16, 1943

A meeting of the faculty was held at 4:10 P.M. on call of President James A. McCain who presided.

Present: Albright, Alcorn, Ames, Armsby, Atkinson, Badgley, Bates, E.E. Bennett, Bischoff, Browder, Brunson, Bryant, Buck, Burgess, Carleton, Carroll, Campbell, Clapp, W.P. Clark, Coleman, Crowder, Davis, Dew, Diettert, Dugan, Dwyer, Ely, Amblen, Ephron, Fenton, Fleming, Fish, Fisher, Folkerts, Ford, Freeman, Frost, Gleason, Gilkey, Gilliland, Golden, Hatton, Hauge, Hetler, Hinze, Hoffman, Jeffers, Jeppesen, Jesse, Juday, Line, Lommasson, Marvin, Mason, Maucker, Merriam, McGinnis, Merrill B. Miller, Mirrielees, Moe, Mollett, J. Moore, Morris, Ostrom, Platt, Phillips, Ratliff, Sappenfield, Severy, Shallenberger, Shepherd, G. Smith, T.H. Smith, J.B. Speer, L. Speer, Struckman, Tascher, Thomas, Toelle, Turner, Van Duser, Weisel, B. Wilson, Wolfard, Wright, Yates.

Accounted for: Andrie, Bruns, Bue, Castle, Crow, Cogswell, Gedickian, Gibson, Gray, Gulbrandsen, Hall, Hammen, Huck, Kraus, Leaphart, Lester, Lovless, Lowell, D. Miller, Murray, Myers, Perkins, Ramskill, Sherman, L. Smith, Spaulding, Stoerker, Sullenberger, Teel, Walbridge, Waters, Wendt.

The minutes of the meeting held March 10, 1948 were approved.

## Announcements.

- a. Captain Robert C. Ratliff was introduced as a new member of the Department of Military Science.
- b. President McCain submitted a report on the meeting of the State Board of Education including the precentage of salary increase for each rank and the approval of the wildlife unit at Montana State University.
- c. President McCain announced that Dr. Gordon B. Castle has been appointed as academic Dean beginning January 1, 1949.
- d. President McCain stated that plans are under way for the Interscholastic Track Meet on May 13, 14, and 15. He hopes that all who will be needed by the Interscholastic Committee will be available at that time.

- e. Dean Crowder read a letter from Chancellor Selke extending his appreciation for the invitation to the faculty dinner.
- f. Professor Morris submitted a financial report on the faculty dinner showing a slight balance which was given to the faculty courtesy fund.
- 4. Reports of Committees:
  - a. Dr. W. P. Clark, Dean of the Graduate School, submitted the following as seconded motion from the Graduate Council: that a student be allowed to choose between a Master of Science and Master of Arts degree if the work he has completed entitles him to either one. The motion was carried.
  - b. Dr. W. R. Ames, Chairman of the Committee on Admission and Graduation, reported that all candidates for degrees and certificates accepted at the meeting of the faculty held on March 10, 1948 have completed requirements for their respective degrees with the following exception.
    - 1. For the degree of Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration.

## Donna Jo Potter

- 5. Under the heading of new business, the faculty elected the following members to membership on committees:
  - a. Dr. W. P. Clark as a member of the Service Committee. Mr. Toelle was reappointed by the President.
  - b. Professor E. A. Atkinson was elected Chairman of the Budget and Policy Committee.
  - c. Dr. Lucia B. Mirrielees was re-elected as a member of the Missoula County Educational Council.
  - d. Dr. Edmund Freeman was re-elected as a member of the Appointments and Promotions Committee.
  - e. The following were elected as members of the Budget and Policy Committee:
    - (1) Dr. H. G. Merriam from the Arts group.
    - (2) Dr. J. W. Howard from the Science group.
    - (3) Dean Theodore H. Smith from the Schools group.

6. The meeting was adjourned.

Emma Lommasson Acting Secretary

May 17, 1948

1. A meeting of the faculty was held at 4:10 P. M. on call of President James A. McCain who presided.

Present: Ames, Armstrong, Atkinson, Bates, E. E. Bennett, Browder, Bryant, Buck, Bue, Campbell, Carroll, W.P. Clark, Clow, Coad, Coldiron, Crow, Crowder, Dew, Dwyer, Ely, Ephron, Fenton, Ferguson, Fiedler, Fish, Fleming, Ford, Freeman, Gilkey, Gleason, Hall, Hamilton, Hatton, Hauge, Hetler, Hinze, Huck, Jeffers, Jeppesen, Jesse, Juday, Line, Lommasson, McGinnis, Maucker, Merriam, Merrill, Mirrielees, Moe, J. Moore, Ostrom, Oswald, Phillips, Platt, Sappenfield, Severy, Shallenberger, Shoemaker, Leo Smith, T. H. Smith, Stoodley, Struckman, Teel, Turner, Verneck, Weisel, Wendt, B. Wilson, V. Wilson, Wolfard, Wright, Yates.

Accounted for: Adams, Albright, Armsby, Arnold, Brody, Castle, Cole, Coleman, Conlin, Cullison, Dugan, Ely, Fisher, Frost, Golden, Hulbert, Lory, Lovless, Myers, Morris, Murray, Ramskill, Ratliff, Shattuck, Shepherd, Major Shoemaker, B. B. Thomas, Waters.