University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

4-11-1974

15 Montana high school seniors receive AROTC scholarships

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana-Missoula. Office of University Relations, "15 Montana high school seniors receive AROTC scholarships" (1974). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 23151. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/23151

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.



Information Services • University of Montana • Missoula, Montana 59801 • (406) 243-2522

IMMEDIATELY

sale/sw 4-11-74 local + cs + ht +

15 MONTANA HIGH SCHOOL SENIORS RECEIVE AROTC SCHOLARSHIPS

MISSOULA --

The Army ROTC detachment office at the University of Montana in Missoula has released the names of 15 Montana high school seniors who have been selected to received four-year AROTC college scholarships. Each of the scholarships is valued at about \$12,000.

Maj. Stephen J. Sepanski, associate professor of military science at UM, said the scholarships are valid at any of 290 colleges and universities offering the four-year AROTC program.

The scholarships pay tuition, textbook and laboratory fees. The winners also receive a \$100 monthly subsistence allowance for a period of up to 10 months of the academic year.

An Army board at Fort Monroe, Va., selected a total of 1,177 winners nationally from about 2,000 finalists.

Scholarship awardees from Montana are:

Gerald R. Miller, Anaconda; Danny R. Welch, Belgrade; Brian K. Barnard, Billings;
Mark A. Donnell, Brady; Steve F. Jacobson, Columbus; Barry G. Olson, Dagmar; Mark A.
Mehring, Ennis; Rick J. Langbecker, Eureka; Mark M. Peterson, Forsyth; James R. Hill,
Great Falls; Leonard A. Johnson, Havre; John P. Boettcher, Helena; Kurt W. Hallock,
Red Lodge, and Tom A. Gregg and Ronald E. Schenck, Whitefish.