University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

5-21-1975

Awards for journalism, radio-TV students total \$4,550 at University of Montana

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "Awards for journalism, radio-TV students total \$4,550 at University of Montana" (1975). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 24191.

https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/24191

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

Information Services • University of Montana • Missoula, Montana 59801 • (406) 243-2522

IMMEDIATELY

brier/ds/dj 5-21-75 state + cs + ht

AWARDS FOR JOURNALISM, RADIO-TV STUDENTS TOTAL \$4,550 AT UNIVERSITY OF MONTANA

MISSOULA --

Awards totaling \$4,550 were presented Wednesday, May 21, to 23 journalism and radio-television students at the University of Montana in Missoula.

The recipients were:

Walter Parker, Butte, Lee Newspapers of Montana Award, \$500.

Douglas Hampton, Bellevue, Wash., Great Falls Newspaper Guild Award, \$100.

Jerry Leggate, Billings, Donald R. Durgin Memorial Award, \$100.

Virginia Getz, Whitehall, Montana Stockgrowers Association Award, \$300.

Ron Hauge, Omaha, Neb., Art Jette Memorial Award, \$50.

Nina Ram, Missoula, Cable Television ETV Award, \$250.

Kathleen Mensing, Northbrook, Ill., Olaf J. Bue Memorial Award, \$50.

Daniel Doyle, <u>Missoula</u>; Robin Bulman, <u>Missoula</u>, Dean Stone-Montana Press Association Awards, \$300 each.

Kathleen Jones, <u>Pocatello</u>, <u>Idaho</u>; Joy Toppin, <u>Oregon</u>, <u>Ohio</u>, Melvin and Myrtle Lord Award, \$100 each.

Jeannie Young, Troy, Minneapolis Tribune Award, \$500.

Beth Frisbee, Cut Bank, Connie R. Craney Award, \$600.

Richard Kaudy, <u>Butte</u>; Dee Ann Koehnke, <u>Townsend</u>; Peter Johnson, <u>Helena</u>, Montana Association of Journalism Directors Awards, \$100 each.

Christine Rubich, Billings, Guy Mooney Award, \$250.

Gayle Corbett, <u>Pocatello</u>, <u>Idaho</u>; Timothy Fay, <u>Cedar Rapids</u>, <u>Iowa</u>; Cassandra Ewing, Helena, Ronald E. Miller Awards, \$100.

AWARDS FOR JOURNALISM, RADIO-TV STUDENTS--page 2

Lisa Jamgochian, Windsor, N.Y., Grace Crane Newman Award, \$100.

Richard Landers, Lewistown, Hardin Herald Award, \$250.

Paula Walker, Glen Ellyn, Ill., Outstanding Woman Senior in Journalism, \$100.

The awards were presented by Jerry Holloron, assistant professor of journalism, and Gregory MacDonald, assistant professor of journalism/radio-television, at a luncheon for the recipients.