University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

4-27-1971

High school students named scholarship recipients

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "High school students named scholarship recipients" (1971). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 24951. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/24951

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

news

Information Services • University of Montana • Missoula, Montana 59801 • (406) 243-2522

IMMEDIATELY

sale/white/dg 4-27-71 local + cs + ht

HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS NAMED SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

MISSOULA --

Four high school seniors from <u>Missoula</u>, <u>Anaconda</u>, <u>Stevensville</u> and <u>Hamilton</u> have been selected from among 20 candidates to receive \$100 scholarships in teacher education at the University of Montana.

Testing and interviews were conducted at UM recently.

Tom Tucker of Stevensville High School was awarded the \$100 scholarship offered by Phi Delta Kappa, men's professional education fraternity. Alternates are Dennis Hanson of Missoula Hellgate High School and Steve Skramstad of Missoula Sentinel High School.

Marcia Roy of Hamilton High School won the award given by the Ravalli County Montana Education Association. Patricia Lange of Stevensville High School was named alternate.

Renee Panian of Missoula Hellgate High School and Cheryl Johnson of Anaconda Central High School were named to receive the two scholarships presented by the 'Iontana Federation of Women's Clubs. Alternates are Janice Hagerman of Thompson Falls High School and Desiree Nance of Missoula Sentinel High School.

The program was administered by Elaine White, William Stoner, Geneva Van Horne, Robert Anderson, William Fisher, and Charles Hood Sr., all of the University of Montana School of Education faculty; and by Mrs. Carl Baldwin, Mrs. John Chamberlin, Mrs. I.C. Ward, Royal Barnell, Mrs. Hatilda E. Hayden, Loren Johnson, Mrs. Mae Richards, and Mrs. James Gebhart, representing the three organizations offering the awards.

###