University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

5-21-1971

20 journalism, radio-TV students receive \$3,600 in Dean Stone Night awards

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "20 journalism, radio-TV students receive \$3,600 in Dean Stone Night awards" (1971). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 25034.

https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/25034

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.



Information Services • University of Montana • Missoula, Montana 59801 • (406) 243-2522

IMMEDIATELY

sale/dg
5-21-71
state + cs + ht

20 JOURNALISM, RADIO-TV STUDENTS RECEIVE \$3,600 IN DEAN STONE NIGHT AWARDS

MISSOULA --

Twenty journalism and radio-television students at the University of Montana received a total of \$3,600 in awards and scholarships Thursday during the 15th annual Dean Stone Night journalism awards banquet at UM.

Recipients included:

Diane Tipton, Helena, Billings Advertising and Sales Association Award, \$450; Jack Tanner, Corvallis, Olaf J. Bue Memorial Award, \$100; Mike Lamb, Hinsdale, Ill., Donald R. Durgin Memorial Award, a plaque; John Paxson, Missoula, Great Falls Newspaper Guild Award, \$100.

Also, Tina Torgrimson, Missoula, Lee Newspapers of Montana Award, \$500; Ronnene Anderson, Missoula, Melvin and Myrtle Lord Award, \$300; Heidi Gasser, Sand Springs, Minneapolis Tribune Award, \$500; Sally Johnson of Eureka, Henry Bird of Dublin, Ireland, and Shirley Hodgson of Melena, the Montana Journalism Faculty Awards, \$100 each; Cindy Burke of Laurel, Woodeene Koenig of Missoula, Steve Shirley and Mary Ann Johnson, both of Eureka, the Montana Press Association Dean Stone Awards, \$150 each.

And, Marcia Eidel, Great Falls, the Montana Stockgrowers Association Award, \$100; Hal Mathew, Billings, Art Jette Memorial Award, \$50; Christie Coburn, Twin Bridges, Guy Mooney Award, \$250; Susan Vankoten Bangs, East Helena, Theta Sigma Phi Citation; Roberta Nelson, Great Falls, Luke Wright Memorial Award, \$100; Margaret McGauley, St. Louis, Mo., Cable Television Educational/Award, \$250; and Art Jette (awarded posthumously), Sigma Delta Chi Plaque for service to The Montana Kaimin, UM student newspaper.

Dean Stone Night honors the late Arthur L. Stone, first journalism dean at UM, who was editor of The Missoulian, local daily newspaper, from 1906-14.