University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

9-20-1971

11 UM students receive Air Force ROTC scholarships

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "11 UM students receive Air Force ROTC scholarships" (1971). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 25291. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/25291

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.



Information Services • University of Montana • Missoula, Montana 59801 • (406) 243-2522

IMMEDIATELY

larrivee/le
9-20-71

9-20-71 local + cs + ht

11 UM STUDENTS RECEIVE AIR FORCE ROTC SCHOLARSHIPS

MISSOULA --

Eleven University of Montana students have been awarded Air Force Reserve Officer
Training Corps scholarships for the 1971-72 academic year, according to Col. Jack Swayze,
professor of aerospace studies at UNI.

The scholarships include tuition, fees, textbook allowance, and \$50 a month living expenses.

Air Force ROTC provides 5,500 four, three and two-year scholarships annually.

Those receiving the scholarships for varying numbers of years include Patrick A. Pauli, Missoula, two years; Kenneth R. Hanson, Missoula, three years; Donald M. Russell, Missoula, three years; John P. Frerich, Whitefish, two years; Eugene G. Culp, Billings, three years; Thomas J. Collins, Lolo, three years; Wayne L. Ridenour, Somers, four years; Charles H. Kestir Colorado Springs, Colo., four years; David M. Barker, Casper, Wyo., four years; Richard A. Lau, Rochester, N.Y., three years, and David C. Erickson, Petaluma, Calif., four years.

Criteria for selection of scholarship recipients include cumulative grade averages, satisfactory scores on a qualifying test, medical qualifications, and high personal and moral standards.

Upon completion of the AFROTC program and degree requirements at U1, the cadets will receive commissions as Air Force second lieutenants.