University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

5-18-1973

\$4,650 awarded in journalism scholarships Friday at UM

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "\$4,650 awarded in journalism scholarships Friday at UM" (1973). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 26645. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/26645

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

Information Services • University of Montana • Missoula, Montana 59801 • (406) 243-2522

news

IMMEDIATELY

larrivee/bb
5-18-73
state + cs + ht

\$4,650 AWARDED IN JOURNALISM SCHOLARSHIPS FRIDAY AT UM

MISSOULA--

A total of \$4,650 in scholarships and awards was presented to 24 University of Montana journalism and radio-television students at an awards luncheon Friday.

Warren J. Brier, dean of the UM journalism school, said the awards presented Friday were scheduled to be given at the annual Dean Stone Night banquet May 17, but the banquet was cancelled when the guest speaker could not attend. Sam Donaldson, ABC News Capitol Hill correspondent, could not keep the speaking engagement because of his extensive professional duties in reporting the Watergate investigation for ABC television and radio.

Recipients included:

William F. Owen, <u>Sugar Creek</u>, <u>Mo., Minneapolis Tribune Award</u>, \$500; Mary Kathryn DeNevi of <u>Harlowton</u>, Mary Joanne Hall of <u>Stanford</u>, Richard M. Kaudy of <u>Butte</u>, and Jeannie Young of <u>Troy</u>, all received the Montana Press Association Dean Stone Awards, \$150 each.

Also, Burnell E. Brown, <u>Chicago</u>, <u>Ill.</u>, Melvin and Myrtle Lord Award, \$250; Bruce E. Hadella, <u>Lewistown</u>, Billings Advertising and Sales Association Award, \$450; Barbara Joan Williams, <u>St. Paul</u>, <u>Minn.</u>, Cable Television Educational TV Award, \$250; Wayne Montgomery, Butte, Olaf J. Bue Memorial Award, \$50.

And, William R. Crockford, <u>Ft. Benton</u>, Montana Stockgrowers Association Award, \$100; Shaun R. Thompson, <u>Missoula</u>, Great Falls Newspaper Guild Award, \$100; Walter L. Parker, <u>Boise, Ida.</u>, Guy Mooney Award, \$250; Patricia Marie Murdo, <u>Billings</u>, Lee Newspapers of Montana Award, \$500; Nancy Lee Stevens, <u>Missoula</u>, Luke Wright Memorial Award, \$100; Jane Louise Connor, <u>Boise</u>, <u>Ida.</u>, Donald R. Durgin Memorial Award, \$100; Richard D. Bangs, Missoula, Art Jette Memorial Award, \$50. \$4,650 AWARDED--2

And, Randal E. Morger, <u>Ft. Benton</u>, Connie R. Craney Award, \$600; Joanne Marie Locke of <u>Missoula</u>, Paula Marie Walker of <u>Glen Ellyn</u>, <u>Ill.</u>, and Larry W. Jones of <u>Glen Burnie</u>, <u>Md.</u>, all received the Ronald E. Miller Memorial Award, \$100 each; Beverly Clara Bilyeu, <u>Big</u> <u>Timber</u>, Grace Crane Newman Award, \$100; Peter A. Johnson of <u>Helena</u>, Richard E. Landers and Robert C. Gibson, both of Lewistown, all received the Journalism Directors Award, \$100 each.

###