University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

6-10-1966

Dr. R. A. Diettert named science council vice-chairman

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "Dr. R. A. Diettert named science council vice-chairman" (1966). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 2081. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/2081

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.



FROM

NEWS

UNIVERSITY OF MONTANA

INFORMATION SERVICES

MISSOULA, MONTANA 59801 PHONE 243-2522 AREA CODE 406

FOR RELEASE IMMEDIATELY

myers 6-10-66

DR. DIETTERT NAMED SCIENCE COUNCIL VP

Dr. R. A. Diettert, University of Montana Professor of Botany and director of the Montana Science Fair, has been elected vice-chairman of the International Science Fair Council.

The Council is comprised of 21 members selected by Science Service from the United States and other nations which participate in the International Science Fair.

Created in 1959, it is designed to aid Science Service in handling some of the routine matters regarding the International Science Fair programs. Primary responsibility for the Fair rests with Science Service.

Dr. Diettert said the Council has no executive authority and served only as an advisory body to Science Service. The group's suggestions are generally followed, he said. The group is involved in considering such Science Fair aspects as sizes of exhibits, criteria and procedures for judging, and selection of sites for the fair.

Dr. Glenn Seaborg, Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission heads the Science Service while Edward G. Sherbrune will be the President of the Council.

30