### University of Montana

# ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

**University Relations** 

6-15-1979

# Cutline for photo of judicial roll of honor selections committee

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

#### **Recommended Citation**

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "Cutline for photo of judicial roll of honor selections committee" (1979). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 30364. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/30364

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

information services • university of montana • missoula, montana 59812 • (406) 243-2522

#### IMMEDIATELY

dwyer/jg 6/15/79 dailies

CUTLINE FOR PHOTO OF JUDICIAL ROLL OF HONOR SELECTIONS COMMITTEE

Members of the committee that will draw up criteria and procedures for the selection of designees for the Montana Judicial Roll of Honor met at the University of Montana School of Law on the occasion of the dedication of the school's new wing, June 8-10. The Montana Judicial Roll of Honor will be established at the law school to honor outstanding Montana judges. Designation will be limited to deceased judges.

In the back row, from left, are U. S. Senior District Judge William J. Jameson, <u>Billings</u>; Frank I. Haswell, <u>Helena</u>, chief justice of the Montana Supreme Court; Theodore K. Thompson, <u>Havre</u>, president of the State Bar of Montana, and James F. Battin, <u>Billings</u>, chief judge, U. S. District Court of Montana.

In the front row, from left, are U. S. Senior District Judge Russell E. Smith, <u>Missoula</u>; U. S. Senior District Judge W. D. Murray, <u>Butte</u>, and James R. Browning, chief judge, U. S. Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit, San Francisco, Calif.

Committee members not pictured are U. S. District Judge Paul G. Hatfield, <u>Great Falls</u>, and W. W. Lessley, <u>Bozeman</u>, state district judge, 18th judicial district. (UM photo by Gordon Lemon)