University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

4-29-1980

Awards given to law students

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "Awards given to law students" (1980). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 31220. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/31220

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.



maribeth dwyer • news editor

IMMEDIATELY

karl nagel/UM Law /sb
4/29/80
h.t.

AWARDS GIVEN TO LAW STUDENTS

MISSOULA--

Several students in the University of Montana School of Law were honored by both the administration of the school and the Student Bar Association at the annual awards banquet.

The awards presented and the students receiving them were:

The Wall Street Journal Award, to the graduating third-year student who received the highest grade in Corporations--Nancy S. Peterson, Cody, Wyoming.

The Prentice-Hall Tax Award, to the graduating third-year student who received the highest grade in Federal Tax I--Daniel N. McLean, Anaconda.

Scribes Award, to the outstanding member of the Montana Law Review--John B. Spooner, <u>Conrad</u>.

American Judicature Society Memberships, to outstanding members of the third-year class--Jeannie Young, <u>Missoula</u>; Daniel N. McLean, <u>Anaconda</u>; Chris Mangen, <u>Broadus</u>; Michael F. Lamb, <u>Red Lodge</u>; Nancy S. Peterson, <u>Cody</u>, <u>Wyo</u>.; Michael E. Zimmerman, <u>Glendive</u>; Kristine M. Davenport, <u>Missoula</u>; Nancy A. Lindeborg, <u>Las Vegas, New Mexico</u>; James J. Johnson, <u>Williston, North Dakota</u>; Carolyn A. Clemens, <u>Latrobe</u>, <u>Pennsylvania</u>; Michael E. Webster, <u>Cascade</u>; Thomas M. Gaa, <u>Bozeman</u>, Bruce E. Lee, <u>Forsyth</u>; James P. Taylor, <u>Billings</u>.

Order of Barristers, for outstanding achievement in appellate advocacy -- Douglas Buxbaum, <u>Fairview</u>; Dominic P. Carestia, <u>Canon City, Colorado</u>; Patrick G. Frank, <u>Billings</u>; Micheal F. Lamb, <u>Red Lodge</u>; Margaret M. Johnson, <u>Detroit, Michigan</u>; Nancy A. Lindeborg, <u>Las Vegas</u>, New Mexico.

(over)

AWARDS TO LAW STUDENTS--page 2

The National Appellate Advocacy Competition Certificates of Commendation to each member of the UM Law School teams participating in the Northwest Regional Appellate Advocacy Competition -- Paul C. Meismer, <u>Billings</u>; Curtis G. Thompson, <u>Billings</u>; Brenda G. Nordlund, <u>Malta</u>; Robert A. Nelson, <u>Great Falls</u>.

James H. Kilbourne Memorial Award for demonstrated excellence in Legal Writing I, II, and III to a student enrolled in the second year of law school -- Carol McVeigh, <u>Helena</u>.

John P. Archer Award to aid a deserving student, to recognize outstanding achievement or to assist in a research or service project -- Margaret M. Johnson, Detroit, Michigan.

First Place, 1980 American Indian Law Writing Competition -- Steven M. Johnson, <u>Missoula</u>. (Prize consists of \$500, \$100 in Bobbs-Merrill law books, and publication of the article in the fall <u>American Indian Law Review</u>.)

First Place, 1979 legal writing contest sponsored by the International Association of Insurance Counsel -- Dominic P. Carestia, <u>Canon City, Colorado</u>. (Prize consists of \$1000, a plaque and publication of the article in the January <u>Insurance Counsel</u> <u>Journal</u>.)

Women's Law Caucus Awards for Service -- Sarah Arnott, <u>Missoula</u>; Nancy K. Dye, <u>Missoula</u>; Opal Winebrenner, <u>Cut Bank</u>.

Student Bar Association Awards in recognition of outstanding contribution to the Association -- David E. Bauer, <u>Laurel</u>; Laura Lee, <u>Forsyth</u>; Michael E. Zimmerman, <u>Missoula</u>; Margy Bonner, <u>Poplar</u>; Nancy K. Dye, <u>Missoula</u>; Greg Luinstra, <u>Choteau</u>; Gregory S. Mullowney, <u>Butte</u>; Elizabeth L. Griffing, <u>Missoula</u>; Elizabeth A. Allaire, <u>Great Falls</u>; Steven R. Rovig, <u>Kalispell</u>; Edward Beaudette, Anaconda.

###