University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

4-13-1967

Dean Stone Night is Friday on University of Montana campus

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "Dean Stone Night is Friday on University of Montana campus" (1967). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 2511. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/2511

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.



Horm News April 13,1967 FROM

(nt or mallor)

UNIVERSITY OF M

INFORMATION SERVICES

MISSOULA, MONTANA 59801 AREA CODE 406 PHONE 243-2522

FOR RELEASE

IMMEDIATELY

J School 4-13-67 (state)

DEAN STONE NIGHT IS FRIDAY ON UM CAMPUS

-101600

Dean Stone Night, annual School of Journalism awards banquet, will enter its second decade Friday night at 6 in the UM Lodge.

Dwight E. Sargent, curator of Nieman Fellowships, will be guest speaker for the 11th observance of the event. Louis M. Lyons, then curator of Newman Fellowships, initiated the first decade as guest speaker in 1957. Before assuming duties as Nieman curator in 1964, Sargent was editorial page editor of the now defunct New York Herald Tribune. He also will meet with journalism school classes Friday as 1967 professional lecturer.

Sargent is expected to discuss press performance in his address before about 165 students, faculty members and friends of the journalism school.

"While newspapers need critics, and attacks may be symptomatic of our failings, journalism needs equally staunch supporters of the product of thousands of dedicated reporters and editors. Mr. Sargent's record and his current responsibility equip him admirably for what he has indicated may be a strong reply to negative positions taken recently," Edward Dugan, acting dean of the journalism school, said.

A veteran newsman and commentator, Sargent has worked for the Biddeford, Maine, Journal; the New Bedford, Mass., Standard Times; the Portland, Maine, Press Herald, the Associated Press and Portland radio station WGAN. He was a Niemen fellow in 1950-51. Nieman fellowships bring experienced newsmen to Harvard University each year to study academic areas that complement their professional work.

STONE PAGE 2

A 1939 graduate of Colby College, Maine, Sargent is a member of the college board of trustees. He is a member of the National Conference of Editorial Writers, the American Society of Newspaper Editors, Sigma Delta Chi and Delta Upsilon.

Other Dean Stone Night speakers have been Kenneth Crawford, senior editor and manager of Newsweek Magazine Washington Bureau, 1958; Chet Huntley, NBC radio and television news analyst, 1959; William F. Johnston, managing editor and editorial page editor of the Lewiston, Idaho, Tribune, 1960; Douglass Cater, Washington editor of Reporter Magazine, 1961; Clarence Streit, editor of Freedom and Union Magazine and founder of the Atlantic Union Movement, 1962; John B. Oakes, editorial page writer of the New York Times, 1963; the late Eugene Burdick, novelist and political scientist who wrote "The Ugly American" and "Failsafe," among other books, 1964; Tom Pettit, NBC News, 1965, and Shana Alexander, Life Magazine columnist, last year.

More than \$1,900 in scholarships will be awarded journalism students at the annual affair. Scholarships are the Minneapolis Tribune Award, \$400; Lee Newspapers of Montana Award, \$300; Melvin and Myrtle Lord Award, \$300; Guy Mooney Award, \$250; Great Falls Press Club Award, \$200; Cable Television ETV Award, \$150; Montana Stockgrowers Association Award, \$100; Robert Struckman Memorial Award, \$100, and the Olaf J. Bue Memorial Award, \$25.

Sam C. Reynolds, editorial page editor of the Daily Missoulian, will preside as toastmaster. Other activities will include installation of the late Joseph Kinsey Howard, Montana newspaperman and author, in the Montana Newspaper Hall of Fame. Outstanding students will be honored by Kappa Tau Alpha, national journalism scholastic society; Sigma Delta Chi, professional journalistic society, and Theta Sigma Phi, women's professional journalism society.

The banquet will be in the Yellowstone Room of the Lodge. It will be preceded at 5:30 p.m. by a gathering of students, faculty, alumni and friends of the School of Journalism.

30