University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

4-30-1970

Dean Stone night award winners named at U of Montana

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana-Missoula. Office of University Relations, "Dean Stone night award winners named at U of Montana" (1970). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 5838. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/5838

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.



Information Services • University of Montana • Missoula, Montana 59801 • (406) 243-2522

For release at 7 p.m.or thereafter on Thursday (April 30)

brier/dn 4/30/70 state + cs

DEAN STONE NIGHT AWARD WINNERS NAMED AT U OF MONTANA

MISSOULA --

Scholarships and awards totaling \$3,100 were presented to 15 journalism and radiotelevision students Thursday (April 30) at the 14th annual Dean Stone Night banquet in the University Center.at the University of Montana.

The banquet honors the late Arthur L. Stone, who established the School of Journalism at the University of Montana in 1914.

Recipients of awards for outstanding performance and potential were:

Diane Marie Tipton, Helena, Cable Television Educational TV Award, \$250; Carolèe.

June Haas, Great Falls, Olaf J. Bue Memorial Award, \$100; Christine R. Coburn, Twin Bridges,

Montana Stockgrowers Association Award, \$100; T. J. Gilles, Laurel, Great Falls Newspaper

Guild Award, \$100.

Ronnene A. Anderson, <u>Missoula</u>, and Stuart J. Johnston, <u>Cut Bank</u>, Dean Stone Awards, offered by the Montana Press Association, \$150 each; Deborah Jill Andrews, <u>Fairfield</u>, Montana Broadcasters Association Award, \$300; Robin Brown Tawney, <u>Missoula</u>, Luke Wright Memorial Award, \$100.

James T. Grady, Shelby, Guy Mooney Award, \$250; Gary D. Guccione, Great Falls, Lee Newspapers of Montana Award, \$300; Connie Catherine Revell, Terry, Melvin and Myrtle Lord Award, \$300; Frank J. Greco Jr., Spokane, Wash., Minneapolis Tribune Award, \$400.

Henry Bird, Ranelagh, Dublin, Ireland, Billings Advertising and Sales Association

Award, \$450; Marcia Marie Herrin, Helena, Montana Journalism Faculty Award, \$150; Edward A.

Matter Jr., Havre, Donald R. Durgin Memorial Award.

DEAN STONE NIGHT--2

Marilyn Kay Pelo was named Outstanding Woman Graduate by Theta Sigma Phi, women's professional journalism society.

Charles S. Johnson, <u>Helena</u>, was selected as the Outstanding Male Graduate by Sigma Delta Chi, professional journalism society.

The Sigma Delta Chi Plaque for service to the Montana Kaimin, UM student daily, was awarded to William F. Schaffer, Deer Lodge, former business manager of the newspaper.

Initiates in Theta Sigma Phi were tapped during the banquet, and new members of Kappa Tau Alpha, national society honoring scholarship in journalism, were introduced.