University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

5-21-1970

33 students, faculty elected to national honorary at University of Montana

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "33 students, faculty elected to national honorary at University of Montana" (1970). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present.* 5914.

https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/5914

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

Information Services • University of Montana • Missoula, Montana 59801 • (406) 243-2522

IMMEDIATELY

sale/dn 5/21/70 state + cs +

33 STUDENTS, FACULTY
ELECTED TO N'TL HONORARY
AT UNIVERSITY OF MONTANA

MISSOULA --

A total of 33 University of Montana students and faculty recently were elected to the Alpha of Montana Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, a national scholastic honorary society of accredited schools of business administration.

The new members were honored at a luncheon in the University Center Thursday (May 21).

Membership requirements are a year in residence at the University of Montana, a
grade point average of 3.5 (B-plus) for graduate students, 3.1 for juniors and 3.0 (B)

for seniors.

Faculty members are eligible for membership after two years at UM.

The National Council of Beta Gamma Sigma allows its chapters to elect members from top
the top 20 per cent of the candidates for master's degree, the/10 per cent of the senior
class, and the top 5 per cent of the junior class.

New BGS members from the business administration faculty include Laurel Pease, an associate professor; William Patton, an assistant professor, and James R. Schwartz, an instructor.

Graduate students named to the national society include Lt. Joel E. Guthals, Great Falls; James M. Farrell, Polaski, Wisc., and Jack E. Holt, Helena.

Newly elected seniors are:

Thomas G. Manning, Billings; Terrence J. Meagher, Cut Bank; Toynette P. Rolston, Forsyth; Larry L. Kaul, Hamilton; Vivian L. Bain and Joseph P. Mazurek, Helena; Douglas R. Bain, Kalispell; Charles R. Cashmore, Laurel; Terry L. Egeland, Livingston; Roderick R. Gregory, Lodge Grass; John S. Angwin, Missoula; Gem Tobin Mercer, Polson; Clayton L. Schenck, Shelby; William C. Schneider, Superior, and Leslie J. Mertens, Three Forks.

33 STUDENTS, FACULTY--2

Newly elected juniors are:

Raymond C. Bell, Avon; William Corbin Howard, Billings; Ted L. Mizner, Deer Lodge;
Keith D. Kolbeck, Hall; Harrell E. Peterson, Hamilton; Dennis L. Kirchner, Huson;
Darrell E. Ehrlick, Laurel; Sharon M. Douglas, Livingston; Lewis M. Brown, Lolo; Betty
Jean Kent, Moore; Nancy Zimmerman, Thompson Falls, and Richard L. Jacobson, St. Ignatius.