Document Type


Publication Title

Journal of Applied Physics

Publication Date







Biochemistry | Chemistry | Life Sciences | Physical Sciences and Mathematics | Physics


Arrays consisting of nanosized stripes of Permalloy with different length-to-width ratios have been fabricated using electron beam nanolithography, magnetron sputtering, and lift-off process. These stripes have a thickness of , a width of , and different lengths ranging from . The stripes are separated by a distance of . Magnetization hysteresis loops were measured using a superconducting quantum interference device susceptometer. Microwave absorption at was determined by means of ferromagnetic resonance technique. The dependence of the resonant field on the angle between the nanostructure and the in-plane dc magnetic field indicates the presence of uniaxial magnetic anisotropy associated with the aspect ratio of the stripes. A maximum change of the resonant field of was observed in the longest stripes, yet it was only for square shaped stripes. The linewidth of the resonant curve varied with the angle, in the range from . Most of the ferromagnetic resonance spectra exhibited multiple resonant peaks due to dimensional confinement of spin waves in the nanosized stripes. The maximum squareness of the magnetization hysteresis loop was for the field applied along the stripes, but the coercivity did not have a monotonic angular dependence as expected from the Stoner-Wohlfarth model for coherent magnetization rotation of the systems with uniaxial anisotropy.


Magnetic anisotrophy, magnetic resonance, microwaves, ferromagnetic resonance, nanomagnetism, magnetic hysteresis, microwave spectra, coercive force, spin wave resonance, telecommunications




Link to Publisher's Version

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under NIRT Grant No. CCF-0403673. The work was also partially supported by the LABoR Grant No. LEQSF(2005-06)-ENH-TR-99. Z.D., from Erskine College, Due West, SC, was sponsored through NSF Grant No. DMR-0243977.


© 2007 American Institute of Physics