Each year since 2002, the Browning Lecture has brought distinguished lawyers, scholars, and judges from across the country to The University of Montana School of Law. As its namesake indicates, the Browning Lecture honors the Honorable James R. Browning, formerly of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. Judge Browning, who passed away in May of 2012, was a member of the first editorial board of the Montana Law Review and ultimately served as Editor-in-Chief. He served with distinction for over 50 years on the Ninth Circuit, many of which he spent as its Chief Judge.

Browse the contents of Distinguished Lectures in Law:

2022 | Hon. Morgan Christen: A Tribute to Judge Sidney R. Thomas
2018 | The Honorable Jeffrey S. Sutton | 51 Imperfect Solutions: States and the Making of American Constitutional Law
2016 | The Honorable Alex Kozinski | In the Court Where I Live
2015 | The Honorable Sidney R. Thomas | Judge James R. Browning: His Legacy for Montana and the Future of the Federal Judiciary
2013 | Professor Ved Nanda | An International Lawyer Looks at the Development Agenda for the Future
2012 | General William K. Suter | Today's Supreme Court
2011 | Roberta Cooper Ramo | Ethics for American Lawyers in the Age of Twitter and the Cloud
2010 | Erwin Chemerinsky | Closing the Courthouse Doors
2008 | Professor Judith Welch Wagner
2007 | Professor Rennard J. Strickland
2006 | The Honorable Martha Craig Daughtrey | Going Against the Grain: Personal Reflections on the Emergence of Women in the Legal Profession
2004 | Professor Charles J. Ogletree, Jr. | All Deliberate Speed: Reflections on the First Half-Century of Brown vs. Board of Education
2003 | Professor Lawrence Lessig | The Creative Commons
2002 | Professor Michael J. Gerhardt | Crisis and Constitutionalism
2001 | The Honorable Mary M. Schroeder | A Celebration Honoring Judge James R. Browning